Baltimore Ravens John Harbaugh AP Coach of the Year Odds

With the NFL regular season less than a month away, it’s time for sports bettors to lock in their futures bets.

The AP Coach of the Year odds are posted across the major sportsbooks, and there are plenty of enticing candidates on the board. There’s been no shortage of coach shuffling this offseason, and a number of newcomers are looking to elevate their latest squad.

The Los Angeles Chargers’ Brandon Staley is the consensus favorite among the books and highlights a list of young coaches trying to make a name for themselves.

Last year’s winner Mike Vrabel is hovering around the +2500 mark as his Tennessee Titans will be navigating the AFC South without WR A.J. Brown this year.

One head coach that’s no stranger to the AP COY award is John Harbaugh of the Baltimore Ravens. Already a two-time winner, Harbaugh aims to join Bill Belichick, Don Shula, and Chuck Knox as the only coaches to win the award three times.

John Harbaugh Coach of the Year Odds

Brandon Staley, LAC+1400+1400+1400+1300
Brian Daboll, NYG+1400+1800+1400+2000
Doug Pederson, JAX+1600+1800+1600+2000
Dan Campbell, DET+1600+1600+1000+1700
John Harbaugh, BAL+2500+2500+2500+2500

Timeline update: Maryland sports betting targeting launch before Super Bowl

The Favorite

Staley brought his brash style to Los Angeles in 2021 and immediately won over the Chargers’ faithful with aggressive play calling, particularly on fourth down. Staley’s Chargers went for it on fourth down 34 times last season third most in the league.

His coaching style wasn’t without criticism, though, and after his questionable decisions in the win-and-you’re-in game against the Las Vegas Raiders last season, many fans were left scratching their heads. But the 39-year-old shot-caller has a lot of talent to work with this year, including MVP candidate QB Justin Herbert.

The Chargers are in the conversation to make the Super Bowl this year but will first have to make it out of the AFC West, which many consider the best division in football.

Other notables

According to sportsbooks, Brian Daboll, Doug Pederson, and Dan Campbell all have a legitimate shot to take home the AP COY honor this year. Daboll takes over for the Giants after his highly regarded work with Josh Allen as the Buffalo Bills’ offensive coordinator. He won’t have as much to work with at QB with Daniel Jones, but if he can turn the Giants around, he’ll deserve the award.

Pederson hasn’t won a Coach of the Year award, but he has won a Super Bowl. Reports out of Jacksonville suggest a buzz around what Pederson has done so far in camp, and the players seem to be buying what he’s selling. The Jags are looking to climb their way out of the cellar this season, led by sophomore starter Trevor Lawrence.

Media darling Dan Campbell is a sound-bite machine, but can the second-year head coach back up the hype surrounding the Lions this offseason? Second overall pick Aidan Hutchinson will help, as will a new-look offense that includes WRs D.J. Chark and former Alabama star Jameson Williams.

Major moolah: Maryland receives $1.5 billion in gambling tax revenue in Fiscal Year 2022

Can John Harbaugh win thrice?

Harbaugh has been a picture of stability for the Baltimore Ravens over the years and has led the team to a 137-88 record in a 14-year-span that includes a Super Bowl championship in 2012. He won the AP COY award in 2019 and 2012 and, after a rare playoff miss last year, will look to have his team humming again. Quarterback Lamar Jackson appears healthy, and the Ravens will have RB J.K. Dobbins back after missing all of last season with a torn ACL.

WR Marquise Brown is gone, but Baltimore still has all-world tight end Mark Andrews, and wideout Rashod Bateman is expected to make a significant leap this year. The Ravens are favorites to win the AFC North, and at +2500 odds, there’s a lot of value in betting on Harbaugh to win his third Coach of the Year award.

Past AP NFL Coach of The Year Winners

2021       Mike Vrabel                        Tennessee Titans

2020       Kevin Stefanski                 Cleveland Browns

2019       John Harbaugh                  Baltimore Ravens

2018       Matt Nagy                           Chicago Bears

2017       Sean McVay                       Los Angeles Rams

2016       Jason Garrett                     Dallas Cowboys

2015       Ron Rivera                          Carolina Panthers

2014       Bruce Arians                       Arizona Cardinals

2013       Ron Rivera                          Carolina Panthers

2012       Bruce Arians                       Indianapolis Colts

AP Photo/Rick Scuteri

About the Author

Ryan Hagen

Ryan Hagen is a freelance writer for Maryland Sharp. He’s spent most of his career writing in roles that have ranged from copywriter at a boutique ad agency to corporate communications at a large oil firm. His true passion is sports, and he’s now been writing in the sports gaming industry for the last couple of years. He enjoys sports betting and usually bets a little too much when he loses and not quite enough when he wins.